The Peabody Post

Joshua Bornfield selected to receive BCGS Composition Commission Award

The Baltimore Classical Guitar Society selected four Baltimore area composers to receive a BCGS Composition Commission Award in celebration of its 25th Anniversary: John Belkot, doctoral candidate Joshua Bornfield, Scott Lee, and Elizabeth Nonemaker. The project is for these four Baltimore composers to write four pieces for guitar(s) and work in close collaboration with the Baltimore guitarist(s) selected to perform the works in a concert. The works will be premiered on March 9 at 2:00 PM, in a concert dedicated only to the world-premieres. The artists are: Andrew Poxon, Oscar Somersalo, Jeremy Lutty, Meng Su, and the Atlantic Guitar Quartet (Mark Edwards, Zoe Johnston-Stewart, Kevin Shannon, Jonathan Zwi). During the concert, Ronald Pearl will interview the composers on-stage about the project and the compositions, and following that the world-premieres will take place. The interviews will be made available via podcast later.16_13

Leave a Reply