The Peabody Post

Thomas Kotcheff Releases New Album

Songs of InsurrectionThomas Kotcheff (BM ’10, Piano) released a new album of Frederic Rzewski’s Songs of Insurrection through Coviello Music Productions. Songs of Insurrection is based on seven songs of protest from various countries and eras. Rzewski takes these melodies as starting points for his own variations. He invites the pianist to conclude each movement with improvisation, which Kotcheff does on movements 1, 3, 4, 6, and 7. Kotcheff was featured in an interview by The New York Times discussing the album.

Leave a Reply