The Peabody Post

Taylor-Alexis DuPont Co-Wins 2023 Lenya Competition

Headshot of Taylor-Alexis DuPont

The Kurt Weill Foundation for Music announced that mezzo-soprano Taylor-Alexis DuPont (MM ’16, Voice), Ryan Johnson, and Nyla Watson are the three winners of the Lenya Competition for 2023, the prize’s 25th year. The Lenya Competition recognizes talented young singer-actors in opera, operetta, and Broadway scores, with a focus on the works of Kurt Weill; each of the 2023 winners receives the $25,000 prize.

The competition was held April 29 and performances are available to stream on the foundation’s website.