Trio Xolo Releases In Flower, In Song

Album cover of In Flower, In Song

In Flower, In Song is the debut album from Trio Xolo, an improvising group composed of Mexican-American bassist Zachary Swanson (BM ’10, Jazz Bass), Baltimore-based saxophonist Derrick Michaels, and Lithuanian percussionist Dalius Naujo. In Flower, In Song was recorded live in one room and unveils a warm, organic sound. The album will be released August […]

Matthew Stevens Releases In Common III

Album cover for In Common III

Peabody jazz faculty guitarist, Matthew Stevens, and tenor saxophonist, Walter Smith III have released the third recording of their In Common project, In Common III. The recording also features NEA Jazz Masters Terri Lyne Carrington, drums, and Dave Holland, bass, and pianist Kris Davis. Stevens and Smith talk about the album and their process in […]

Sean Jones and NYO Jazz Release “We’re Still Here”

Album cover for We're Still Here

Carnegie Hall’s Nation Youth Orchestra Jazz led by NYO Jazz Artistic Director and Peabody’s Richard and Elizabeth Case Chair of Jazz Studies Sean Jones will release its debut album called We’re Still Here on June 24.

Sean Jones Presents Jazz Education Program with Herbie Hancock Institute

Sean Jones presented a peer-to-peer jazz educational performance hosted by the U.S. Department of Education and the Herbie Hancock Institute of Jazz. Jones performed and educated alongside three other jazz educators. The performance was livestreamed from the US Department of Education and the Herbie Hancock Institute website.

Jacob Yoffee Co-Composes Score for “The Wonder Years” Reboot

Jacob Yoffee

Jacob Yoffee (BM ’02, Composition; GPD ’04, Jazz Saxophone) was featured on The Hub for his work in composing the score for ABC’s reboot of “The Wonder Years.” Yoffee co-composed the score with Roahn Hylton, featuring six core musicians, in their live-band recordings, including Peabody alum Russel Kirk (BM ’05, Jazz Saxophone).

Richard D. Johnson Releases First Glance

Assistant Professor Richard D. Johnson released an album entitled First Glance on August 27 created by his Jazz recording label, AFAR Music, containing pieces all composed by Johnson. The album received a positive review on bebop spoken here and the recording label was featured in an interview discussing how AFAR Music transformed during the pandemic […]

Devin Gray Release Melt All the Guns

Melt All the Guns

Devin Gray (BM ’06, Jazz Percussion) releases Melt All the Guns on June 4, 2021 for the 7th National Gun Violence Awareness Day. The music on the recording was composed during fall of 2019 and recorded by Gray, Ralph Alessi, and Angelica Sanchez. A release party will be held at Soapbox Gallery in Brooklyn on […]

Warren Wolf Releases Reincarnation

Warren Wolf

Reincarnation, a new album by Conservatory faculty artist and Preparatory alumnus Warren Wolf, released by Mack Avenue pays tribute to R&B music Wolf listened to growing up in the 1990s.

Warren Wolf Releases Christmas Vibes

Warren Wolf

Conservatory faculty artist and Preparatory alumnus Warren Wolf, vibes, released the album entitled Christmas Vibes through Mack Avenue Records. The album features classic carols, pop songs, and a new original Christmas song.